Comment for Representing Non-imaging and Non-laboratory Clinical

Comment for Representing Non-imaging and Non-laboratory Clinical Tests The American Medical Association requests that the Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) code set be added to the standards listed in Section I: Representing Non-imaging and Non-laboratory Clinical Tests. The CPT code set contains numerous codes for non-imaging and non-laboratory clinical tests, including, but not limited to:
  • Electroencephalography (EEG)
  • Echocardiography (EKG)
  • Cardiovascular and exercise stress tests
  • Pulmonary function tests
  • Electromyography (EMG)
  • Electroretinography (ERG)
  • Audiologic function tests
  • Evoked potential tests
  • Intraocular pressure measurement
  • Visual acuity and function tests
  • Allergy challenge tests
  • Fetal monitoring
  • Sleep studies
CPT is a comprehensive and regularly curated uniform language that accurately describes medical, surgical, laboratory, and diagnostic services and provides for reliable communication among users. It has an extremely robust and mature development process with open and transparent meetings and clinical input from national medical specialties and relevant stakeholders. It is the most widely adopted outpatient procedure code set. Use of the CPT code set is federally required under HIPAA.